Nigeria, or Federal Republic of Nigeria, a country in West Africa. It is the largest of the West African nations and the most populous in Africa. Nigeria is bounded by Niger, Chad, Cameroon, the Gulf of Guinea, and Benin. The country's area is 356,669 square miles (923,768 km 2). Greatest distances are about 740 miles (1,190 km) east-west and 650 miles (1,050 km) north-south.

Facts in brief about Nigeria
Capital: Abuja.
Official language: English.
Official name: Federal Republic of Nigeria.
Area: 356,669 mi2 (923,768 km2). Greatest distances—east-west, 800 mi (1,287 km); north-south, 650 mi (1,046 km). Coastline—478 mi (769 km).
Elevation: Highest—Dimlang Peak, 6,699 ft (2,042 m) above sea level. Lowest—sea level.
Population: Current estimate—140,923,000; density, 395 per mi2 (153 per km2); distribution, 52 percent rural, 48 percent urban. 2004 official government estimate—129,175,000.
Chief products: Agriculture—beans, beef and hides, cacao, cassava, corn, cotton, millet, palm oil and palm kernels, peanuts, rice, rubber, yams. Mining—columbite, limestone, natural gas, petroleum, tin. Manufacturing—cement, chemicals, clothing, food products, textiles.
Flag and coat of arms: Nigeria's flag, adopted in 1960, has three vertical stripes—green, white, and green (left to right). The green represents agriculture, and the white symbolizes unity and peace. The design on the shield of the coat of arms stands for Nigeria's fertile soil and main rivers, the Niger and the Benue.
National anthem: "Arise, O Compatriots."
Money: Basic unit—naira. One hundred kobo equal one naira.