Sudan, or Republic of Sudan, a country of northeastern Africa. It lies directly south of Egypt and is also bordered by Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Uganda, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, the Central African Republic, Chad, and Libya. From its northernmost point, on the shore of the Red Sea, Sudan stretches some 1,300 miles (2,100 km) southward; east-west, the greatest distance is about 1,000 miles (1,600 km). With an area of 967,500 square miles (2,505,813 km 2), Sudan is Africa's largest nation and is almost one-third the size of the United States.

Facts in brief about Sudan
Capital: Khartoum.
Official language: Arabic and English.
Area: 967,500 mi2 (2,505,813 km2). Greatest distances—north-south, 1,275 mi (2,050 km); east-west, 1,150 mi (1,850 km). Coastline—400 mi (644 km).
Elevation: Highest—Mount Kinyeti, 10,456 ft (3,187 m) above sea level. Lowest—sea level.
Population: Current estimate—39,076,000; density, 40 per mi2 (16 per km2); distribution, 59 percent rural, 41 percent urban.
Chief products: Agriculture—cotton, livestock, millet, peanuts, sesame, sorghum, sugar cane, wheat. Forest industry—gum arabic, timber. Manufacturing and processing—food products, petroleum products, shoes, textiles.Mining—chromium, gold, gypsum, petroleum.
Flag: Three equal horizontal stripes of red, white, and black, with a green triangle symbolizing Islam. Adopted in 1970.
Money: Basic unit—Sudanese pound.