Tunisia, or Republic of Tunisia, a country in North Africa. It is part of the Maghrib, a historic region that also includes portions of Morocco, Algeria, and Libya. From the Mediterranean Sea in the extreme north, it stretches southward nearly 500 miles (800 km), averaging about 150 miles (240 km) in width. The total area is 63,170 square miles (163,610 km2).

Facts in brief about Tunisia
Capital: Tunis.
Official language: Arabic.
Area: 63,170 mi2 (163,610 km2). Greatest distances—north-south, 485 mi (781 km); east-west, 235 mi (378 km). Coastline—639 mi (1,028 km).
Population: Current estimate—10,352,000; density, 164 per mi2 (63 per km2); distribution, 65 percent urban, 35 percent rural. 2004 census—9,910,872.
Chief products:Agriculture—barley, dates, citrus fruit, olives, wheat. Manufacturing—chemicals, construction materials, machinery, mineral processing, paper, processed food, textiles, wood. Mining—aluminum, fluorite, iron, lead, petroleum, phosphates, sea salt, zinc.
Flag: Tunisia's flag has a large white circle on a red background. Inside the circle are a red crescent and five-pointed star. The crescent and star are traditional symbols of the Islamic faith.
Money:Basic unit—Tunisian dinar. One thousand millimes equal one dinar.