Azerbaijan (or Azerbaizdhan), a country in western Asia. It is on the west coast of the Caspian Sea and borders on Iran, Armenia, Turkey, Georgia, and Russia. Including the Nakhichevan Autonomous Republic, Azerbaijan has an area of 33,436 square miles (86,600 km2).

Facts in brief about Azerbaijan
Capital: Baku.
Official language: Azerbaijani.
Area: 33,436 mi2 (86,600 km2). Greatest distances—north-south, 240 mi (385 km); east-west, 295 mi (475 km).
Elevation: Highest—Bazardyuzyu, 14,652 ft (4,466 m) above sea level. Lowest—Coast of Caspian Sea, 92 ft (28 m) below sea level.
Population: Current estimate—8,607,000; density, 257 per mi2 (99 per km2); distribution, 52 percent urban, 48 percent rural. 1999 census—7,953,438.
Chief products: Agriculture—cotton, fruit, grain, livestock, tea, tobacco, vegetables. Manufacturing—machine building, petroleum refining, textile production, processing of chemicals. Mining—aluminum, copper, iron, natural gas, petroleum, salt.
Flag: The Azerbaijan flag has three horizontal stripes that are light blue, red, and green (top to bottom). In the flag's center is a white crescent and an eight-point star.
Money: Basic unit—Azerbaijani manat.

Azerbaijan is edged by high ranges of the Caucasus Mountains on the north and by lesser ranges on the south and southwest. Bazar Dyuzi, which rises 14,698 feet (4,480 m) above sea level in the Caucasus, is the highest peak. A broad lowland borders the lower Kura River and its tributary the Araks. Much of this area lies below sea level. The only large lake is Mingechaur Reservoir, a source of water for irrigation and for generating hydroelectric power.

Except in the subtropical Lenkoran Lowland, south of the Kura River's mouth, Azerbaijan has a dry climate marked by hot summers and cool to cold winters. Steppe vegetation predominates.

AzerbaijanAzerbaijan is a country in southwestern Asia.