Bangladesh, or People's Republic of Bangladesh, an independent country in southern Asia. From 1947 until 1971 it was known as East Pakistan and was one of the two integral but widely separated parts of Pakistan. Bangladesh fronts on the Bay of Bengal, an arm of the Indian Ocean, and is bordered by India and a tip of Burma. Its area is 55,598 square miles (143,998 km2). Maximum dimensions are about 230 miles (370 km) east-west and 320 miles (515 km) north-south. The name Bangladesh means "Bengal nation."

Facts in brief about Bangladesh
Capital: Dhaka.
Official language: Bengali.
Official name: People's Republic of Bangladesh.
Area: 55,598 mi2 (143,998 km2). Greatest distances—north-south, 464 mi (747 km); east-west, 288 mi (463 km). Coastline—357 mi (575 km).
Elevation: Highest—Mount Keokradong, 4,034 ft (1,230 m) above sea level. Lowest—sea level.
Population: Current estimate—150,060,000; density, 2,699 per mi2 (1,042 per km2); distribution, 75 percent rural, 25 percent urban. 2001 census—129,247,233.
Chief products: Agriculture—jute, rice, sugar cane, tea, tobacco, wheat. Manufacturing—jute products, leather, paper and paper products, textiles. Mining—natural gas.
National anthem: "Amar Sonar Bangla" ("My Golden Bengal").
Symbols: The Bangladesh flag, officially adopted in 1972, is green with a large red circle in the center. The red stands for the sun and the green for scenic beauty. A water lily, the national flower of Bangladesh, appears in the center of the emblem.
National holidays: Shaheed Dibash (Martyrs' Day), February 21; Independence Day, March 26; Victory Day, December 16.
Money: Basic unit—taka. One hundred poisha equal one taka.