Burma, the traditional name of a country in southeastern Asia whose official name is Union of Myanmar. It fronts on the Bay of Bengal and the Andaman Sea and is bordered by Bangladesh, India, China, Laos, and Thailand. The country's greatest distances are about 1,280 miles (2,060 km) north-south and 580 miles (930 km) east-west. Burma's area is 261,218 square miles (676,552 km2), about the same as that of Texas.

Facts in brief about Myanmar
Capital: Naypyidaw Myodaw.
Official language: Burmese.
Area: 261,228 mi2. (676,578 km2). Greatest distances—north-south, 1,300 mi. (2,090 km); east-west, 580 mi. (930 km). Coastline—1,650 mi (2,655 km).
Elevation: Highest—Hkakabo Razi, 19,296 ft (5,881 m) above sea level. Lowest—sea level.
Population: Current estimate—51,988,000; density, 199 per mi2 (77 per km2); distribution, 69 percent rural, 31 percent urban. 2003 official government estimate—51,660,000.
Chief products: Agriculture—rice, vegetables and fruits, sugar cane, peanuts, sesame seeds, corn, wheat, millet, tobacco, jute, cotton, rubber. Forestry—teak. Manufacturing—fertilizer, processed foods. Mining—coal, natural gas, petroleum, zinc, lead, tin, tungsten, silver, jade, rubies, sapphires.
National anthem: "Kaba Makye" ("Our Free Homeland").
Flag and coat of arms: Myanmar's official flag was adopted in 1974. The flag is red with blue canton in the upper left. A cogwheel and a rice plant surrounded by 14 white stars are in the canton. The cogwheel and rice plant represent industry and agriculture, and the stars represent Myanmar's seven states and seven divisions. Blue symbolizes peace, and red represents courage. The coat of arms has a map of Myanmar in the center. The star at the top stands for independence.
Money: Basic unit—kyat. One hundred pyas equal one kyat.