South Korea, a country of eastern Asia. It occupies the southern part of the Korean peninsula, between the Sea of Japan on the east and the Yellow Sea on the west. In 1945, Korea was divided into two countries—the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (North Korea) and the Republic of Korea (South Korea). They are separated by a demilitarized zone, about 2½ miles (4 km) in width, along the armistice line established in 1953 at the close of the Korean War.

Facts in brief about South Korea
Capital: Seoul.
Official language: Korean.
Official name: Taehan-min’guk (Republic of Korea).
Area: 38,432 mi2 (99,538 km2), including islands and excluding the 487-mi2 (1,262 km2) demilitarized zone. Greatest distances—north-south, 300 mi (480 km); east-west, 185 mi (298 km). Coastline—819 mi (1,318 km).
Elevation: Highest—Halla-san (Halla Mountain) 6,398 ft (1,950 m) above sea level. Lowest—sea level.
Population: Current estimate—48,877,000; density, 1,272 per mi2 (491 per km2); distribution, 81 percent urban, 19 percent rural. 2000 census—46,136,101.
Chief products: Agriculture—apples, barley, cabbage, cattle, chickens, hogs, melons, onions, oranges, potatoes, rice, soybeans, sweet potatoes. Manufacturing—automobiles, chemicals, clothing and textiles, computer equipment, electric appliances, fertilizers, iron and steel, machinery, optical goods, paper, plywood, porcelain, processed foods, rubber tires, ships, telecommunications equipment, television sets. Mining—anthracite (hard coal), gold, graphite, iron ore, lead, limestone, tungsten, zinc. Fishing—filefish, oysters, pollock, squid, tuna.
Flag and coat of arms: South Korea's flag has a white background with a red-and-blue yin-yang symbol in the center. The ancient yin-yang symbol represents the balance in the universe between opposites—such as night and day, and life and death. There are four different I Ching symbols in each corner of the flag. In the coat of arms, yellow flowers encircle the yin-yang symbol.
Money: Basic unit—South Korean won.

Facts in brief about South Korea