Labrador, the mainland portion of the Canadian province of Newfoundland and Labrador. During the early years of Canada, the name was also applied to much of the country's far eastern peninsula, including Ungava. Labrador is bounded on the north and east by the Atlantic Ocean, and on the south and west by Quebec. It has an area of 112,826 square miles (292,218 km2).

For information about Labrador's geography, economy, people, and government,

Norse explorers may have visited Labrador about 1000 A.D. Explorations were made by John Cabot (1498), Gaspar Corte-Real (1500), Jacques Cartier (1534), and others. After 1752 Moravian missionaries settled along the coast, joining English fishermen who had come earlier. The Treaty of Paris in 1763 gave Labrador to the British, who put it under the authority of the colonial government in Newfoundland.

The Labrador border was the source of a long-standing dispute between Quebec and Newfoundland. It was not settled until the present boundaries were fixed in 1927. In 1949, Labrador, along with the rest of Newfoundland, became part of Canada.

Population: 27,864.