Regina, Canada, the provincial capital and second largest city of Saskatchewan. It lies on the Great Plains in the southern part of the province, about 100 miles (160 km) north of the United States border.

Regina is an important commercial and transportation center for a rich wheat-, cattle-, and potash-producing area. The Saskatchewan Wheat Pool, one of the largest grain cooperatives in the world, has its headquarters here. Manufacturing activities include food processing, petroleum refining, and steel fabricating. The city is served by the Trans-Canada Highway, Canada's two transcontinental railways, and a regional airport.

Wascana Centre, a 2,300-acre (930-hectare) park adjoining Wascana Lake, contains the Museum of Natural History, the Legislative Building, the University of Regina, and various sports and recreational facilities. Also in Regina is the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Museum.

Regina was founded in 1882 with the arrival of the Canadian Pacific Railway, and became the capital of the Northwest Territories in 1883. When Saskatchewan province was established in 1905, Regina was made its capital. The city was incorporated in 1903.

Population: 178,225.