Anguilla,Anguilla, a coral island in the Caribbean Sea, is an overseas territory of the United Kingdom.

Anguilla, a United Kingdom Overseas Territory in the Leeward Islands in the Caribbean Sea. It is a relatively flat, sandy, and dry island with an area of 35 square miles (91 km2). Economic activities include fishing and tourism. A town called The Valley is the administrative center.

Most of the Anguillans are blacks, the descendants of African slaves. English is the principal language and Protestant denominations are the main faiths.

Britain colonized Anguilla in 1650. It administered it, St. Kitts, and Nevis as a single colony beginning in 1882. In 1967 this colony was made a British associated state, from which Anguilla quickly seceded. British forces invaded the island in 1969 to reestablish British authority. Anguilla was officially made a separate dependency by Britain in 1980.

Population: 9,000.