Guatemala, or Republic of Guatemala, an independent country of Central America. It borders Mexico, Belize, Honduras, and El Salvador and lies between the Pacific Ocean and the Gulf of Honduras, an arm of the Caribbean Sea. Guatemala has an area of 42,042 square miles (108,889 km2). Maximum distances are roughly 280 miles (450 km) north-south and 250 miles (400 km) east-west.

Facts in brief about Guatemala
Capital: Guatemala City.
Official language: Spanish.
Area: 42,042 mi2 (108,889 km2). Greatest distances—north-south, 283 mi (455 km); east-west, 261 mi (420 km). Coastlines—Pacific, 152 mi (245 km); Caribbean, 53 mi (85 km).
Elevation: Highest—Volcan Tajumulco, 13,845 ft (4,220 m) above sea level. Lowest—sea level along the coasts.
Population: Current estimate—13,532,000; density, 322 per mi2 (124 per km2); distribution, 53 percent rural, 47 percent urban. 2002 census—11,237,196.
Chief products: Agriculture—bananas, beans, beef cattle, cardamom, coffee, corn, cotton, sugar cane. Manufacturing—clothing and textiles, handicrafts, processed foods and beverages.
Flag and coat of arms: Guatemala's state flag, adopted in 1871, has three vertical stripes, blue, white, and blue (left to right), with the country's coat of arms in the center. The blue stripes represent the Atlantic and Pacific oceans, which border the country. The civil flag, flown by the people, does not include the coat of arms. The coat of arms includes a quetzal, the national bird of Guatemala, and a scroll bearing the date when independence was declared.
Money: Basic unit—quetzal. One hundred centavos equal one quetzal.