Nicaragua, or Republic of Nicaragua, a country in Central America. It lies between the Pacific Ocean and the Caribbean Sea and is bordered by Honduras and Costa Rica. Across the narrow Gulf of Fonseca lies El Salvador. Nicaragua is roughly triangular in shape and occupies about 50,000 square miles (130,000 km 2), about the same area as New York. It is the largest country of Central America.

Facts in brief about Nicaragua
Capital: Managua.
Official language: Spanish.
Area: 50,193 mi2 (130,000 km2). Greatest distances—north-south, 293 mi (472 km); east-west, 297 mi (478 km). Coastlines—Pacific, 215 mi (346 km); Caribbean, 297 mi (478 km).
Elevation: Highest—Pico Mogoton, 6,913 ft (2,107 m) above sea level. Lowest—sea level along the coasts.
Population: Current estimate—5,458,000; density, 109 per mi2 (42 per km2); distribution, 59 percent urban, 41 percent rural. 2005 census—5,142,098.
Chief products: Agriculture—beans, beef and dairy products, coffee, corn, cotton, peanuts, rice, sugar cane, tobacco. Manufacturing—food and beverage products, clothing, textiles.
National holiday: Independence Day, September 15.
Flag and coat of arms: Nicaragua's flag was adopted in 1908 from that of the United Provinces of Central America. This union of the early 1800's consisted of Nicaragua and four other nations. The flag has three horizontal stripes of blue and white. The coat of arms has volcanoes that stand for the Central American union, the triangle for equality, the rainbow for peace, and the cap for liberty.
Money: Basic unit—gold cordoba. One hundred centavos equal one gold cordoba.