Bucovina, or Bukovina, a region of east-central Europe. It lies chiefly in the upper courses of the Prut and Siret rivers, and extends from the Dniester River in the northeast to the Carpathian Mountains in the southwest. Northern Bucovina, covering 1,708 square miles (4,424 km2), is in Ukraine. Southern Bucovina, with an area of 2,322 square miles (6,014 km2), is in Romania. Bucovina is heavily forested; the name means “Land of the Beeches."

Bucovina was first mentioned as a separate district in 1412. It was under Turkish rule from 1512 until 1769, when it was occupied by Russian armies. In 1774 Turkey was forced to cede Bucovina to Austria. In 1849 Austria set up Bucovina as a separate crown land. When Austria-Hungary broke up in 1918 after World War I, Bucovina became part of Romania. During World War II the Soviet Union took over northern Bucovina. In 1991, after the collapse of the Soviet Union, northern Bucovina became a part of the newly independent Ukraine.