Czech Republic, a country in central Europe. From 1918 to 1993 it was a part of Czechoslovakia. The Czech Republic is made up of the historic regions of Bohemia and Moravia and part of the historic region of Silesia. It is bordered by Poland, Slovakia, Austria, and Germany. The area of the Czech Republic is 30,452 square miles (78,864 km2).