Hungary, or Republic of Hungary, a country in eastern Europe. It is bordered by Ukraine, Romania, Serbia and Montenegro, Croatia, Slovenia, Austria, and Slovakia. Hungary's area is 35,919 square miles (93,030 km2), about the same as that of Indiana. Maximum dimensions are about 275 miles (445 km) east-west and 165 miles (265 km) north-south.