Norway, or Kingdom of Norway (Norwegian: Norge ), a nation of northwestern Europe. It forms the western part of the Scandinavian Peninsula, bounded on three sides by the waters of the Barents, Norwegian, and North seas and the Skagerrak, a strait between Norway and Denmark. The country adjoins Sweden for most of its length, and curves eastward at its northern tip to touch Finland and Russia. Norway includes thousands of offshore islands. Other Norwegian island possessions are Svalbard and Jan Mayen in the Arctic Ocean and Bouvet in the South Atlantic.

Northern Norway is part of the area known as the “Land of the Midnight Sun,” because of the period of continuous daylight beyond the Arctic Circle during summer.

Facts in brief about Norway
Capital: Oslo.
Official language: Norwegian (Bokmal and Nynorsk).
Official name: Kongeriket Norge (Kingdom of Norway).
Area: 148,726 mi2 (385,199 km2), including Svalbard and Jan Mayen. Greatest distances—northeast-southwest, 1,089 mi (1,752 km); northwest-southeast, 267 mi (430 km). Coastline—1,647 mi (2,650 km).
Elevation: Highest—Galdhoppigen, 8,100 ft (2,469 m) above sea level. Lowest—sea level along the coast.
Population: Current estimate—4,671,000; density, 31 per mi2 (12 per km2); distribution, 78 percent urban, 22 percent rural. 2002 census—4,520,947.
Chief products: Agriculture—barley, hay, livestock, milk, oats, potatoes, wheat. Fishing—cod, haddock, herring, mackerel. Forestry—timber. Manufacturing—aluminum, furniture, processed foods, refined petroleum products, ships, wood pulp and paper. Mining—coal, iron ore, limestone, nickel, petroleum and natural gas, pyrites, zinc.
National anthem: "Ja, vi elsker dette landet" ("Yes, We Love This Land").
Flag and coat of arms: Norway's flag, adopted in 1898, has a blue cross outlined with white on a red background. The civil flag is rectangular. The state flag has a swallowtail (forked tail). Norway's coat of arms dates from the 1280's, when the ax and crown of Saint Olav were added to the lion.
National holiday: Constitution Day, May 17.
Money: Basic unit—Norwegian krone. One hundred ore equal one krone.