Romania, or Rumania, a country of Europe. It is in the Balkans, bounded by Ukraine, Moldova, the Black Sea, Bulgaria, Serbia and Montenegro, and Hungary. Romania has an area of about 91,700 square miles (237,500 km 2). Its greatest length, east to west, is nearly 370 miles (595 km); its greatest width, about 300 miles (480 km).

Facts in brief about Romania
Capital: Bucharest.
Official language: Romanian.
Official name: Republica Romania (Republic of Romania).
Area: 92,043 mi2 (238,391 km2). Greatest distances—east-west, about 450 mi (724 km); north-south, about 320 mi (515 km). Coastline—130 mi. (209 km).
Elevation: Highest—Mount Moldoveanu, 8,343 ft (2,543 m) above sea level. Lowest—sea level.
Population: Current estimate—21,517,000; density, 234 per mi2 (90 per km2); distribution, 55 percent urban, 45 percent rural. 2002 census—21,680,974.
Chief products: Agriculture—corn, potatoes, wheat, milk, sugar beets, grapes, wool. Manufacturing—machinery, cement, iron and steel, petroleum products, processed foods, clothing and shoes, wood products. Mining—petroleum, natural gas, coal.
Flag and coat of arms: Romania's flag has three vertical stripes of blue, yellow, and red (left to right). The three stripes represent Romania's national colors. The eagle on Romania's coat of arms is a symbol of the region of Walachia. The other symbols on the coat of arms represent each of Romania's five other regions.
National anthem: "Desteapta-te, Romane" ("Romanian, Arise").
Money: Basic unit—new Romanian leu. One hundred new bani equal one new leu.