Wales (Welsh: Cymru), a political division of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. It occupies a broad peninsula on the southwestern coast of Great Britain and includes Anglesey and several smaller islands. Wales adjoins England on the east; elsewhere it is bordered by the Irish Sea, St. George's Channel, and the Bristol Channel—all arms of the Atlantic Ocean. The area of Wales is 8,019 square miles (20,769 km2), slightly more than that of New Jersey. Maximum dimensions are about 140 miles (225 km) north-south and 110 miles (175 km) east-west.

Facts in brief about Wales
Capital: Cardiff.
Official languages: Welsh and English.
Area: 8,015 mi2 (20,758 km2). Greatest distances—north-south, 137 mi (220 km); east-west, 116 mi (187 km). Coastline—614 m. (988 km).
Elevation: Highest—Snowdon, 3,561 ft (1,085 m) above sea level. Lowest—sea level, along the coast.
Population: Current estimate—2,977,000; density, 371 per mi2 (143 per km2m); distribution, 78 percent urban, 22 percent rural. 2001 census—2,903,085.
Chief products: Agriculture—barley, cabbage, cattle, cauliflower, hay, oats, potatoes, sheep. Manufacturing—aluminum, chemicals, electrical and electronic equipment, iron, motor vehicle and airplane parts, petroleum products, plastics, steel, synthetic fibers, tin plate. Mining—coal, limestone, slate.
Flag: The flag of Wales features a red dragon on two broad horizontal stripes of white and green (top to bottom). The dragon has been a Welsh symbol for nearly 2,000 years.