The Middle East encompasses nearly 20 countries. A geopolitical hotspot for several decades, the region sees much military activity in its deserts and lowland plains.
  • Afghanistan
  • Bahrain
  • Cyprus
  • Egypt
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Kuwait
  • Lebanon
  • More Topics

, a town about I5 miles (24 km) northeast of Jerusalem. Although it is in Israeli-occupied Jordan, it is governed as an autonomous entity, by the Palestine Liberation Organization.

More To Explore
You Might Also Like
Geography of Pakistan

Pakistan, or Islamic Republic of Pakistan, a country in southern Asia. It was created in 1947 by the partition of British India into India and Pakistan and consisted originally of two parts—East Pakistan on the eastern side of India and West Pakistan on the west.

Geography of Egypt

Egypt, or Arab Republic of Egypt, a country in the Middle East, mostly in northeastern Africa but partly in southwestern Asia.

Don't Miss