Arabia, a region of southwest Asia, occupying the Arabian Peninsula and nearby islands. It is bounded on the north by the Syrian Desert, on the east by the Persian Gulf and the Gulf of Oman, on the south by the Arabian Sea and the Gulf of Aden, and on the west by the Gulf of Aqaba and the Red Sea. Arabia's political divisions include Bahrain (an island in the Persian Gulf), Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen. Geographically, Arabia includes part of Iraq and part of Jordan.

The peninsula is a vast, tilted plateau that slopes gently eastward from high ridges along the Red Sea coast. Extreme elevations exceed 12,000 feet (3,660 m), in northern Yemen. There are large expanses of desert—some are the driest, hottest, most desolate on earth. Arabia's area, roughly 1,100,000 square miles (2,800,000 km2), is nearly one-third that of the United States.