, a country of southwestern Asia. Until 1935 it was known in the West as Persia. Iran is bounded by Azerbaijan, Armenia, the Caspian Sea, Turkmenistan, Afghanistan, Pakistan, the Gulf of Oman, the Persian Gulf, Iraq, and Turkey. The area is about 636,300 square miles (1,648,000 km2).

Facts in brief about Iran