Turkey, or Republic of Turkey, a country of western Asia and southeastern Europe. Asian Turkey occupies Anatolia, the peninsula of Asia Minor.

Facts in brief about Turkey
Capital: Ankara.
Official language: Turkish.
Official name: Turkiye Cumhuriyeti (Republic of Turkey).
Area: 302,535 mi2 (783,562 km2). Greatest distances—north-south, 465 mi (748 km); east-west, 1,015 mi (1,633 km). Coastline—2,211 mi (3,558 km).
Elevation:Highest—Mount Ararat, 16,946 ft (5,165 m) above sea level. Lowest—sea level along the coast.
Population: Current estimate—74,824,000; density, 247 per mi2 (95 per km2); distribution, 67 percent urban, 33 percent rural. 2000 census—67,803,927.
Chief products:Agriculture—barley, corn, cotton, fruits, potatoes, sugar beets, wheat. Manufacturing—fertilizers, iron and steel, machinery, motor vehicles, processed foods and beverages, pulp and paper products, textiles and clothing.
National anthem: "Istiklal Marsi" ("Independence March").
Flag: Turkey's flag, adopted in 1936, has the crescent and five-pointed star on a red background. The crescent and star are traditional symbols of the Islamic faith.
Money:Basic unit—new Turkish lira. One hundred new kurus equal one new lira.