Yemen, or Republic of Yemen, a country on the Arabian Peninsula in southwestern Asia. It was created in 1990 by the union of Yemen (Sana) and Yemen (Aden). Yemen is bordered by Saudi Arabia and Oman on land and by the Red Sea and the Gulf of Aden, an arm of the Arabian Sea. Socotra and a number of smaller islands are part of Yemen.

Facts in brief about Yemen
Capital: Sanaa.
Official language: Arabic.
Area: 203,850 mi2. (527,968 km2). Coastline—about 1,020 mi. (1,642 km).
Elevation:Highest—12,336 ft. (3,760 m). Lowest—sea level.
Population:Current estimate—23,054,000; density, 113 per mi2 (44 per km2); distribution, 74 percent rural, 26 percent urban. 2004 census—19,721,643.
Chief products:Agriculture—coffee, fruits, grains, khat, vegetables. Manufacturing—building materials, handicrafts. Mining—petroleum.
Flag: Yemen's flag has three horizontal stripes of red, white, and black (top to bottom).
Money:Basic unit—Yemeni rial.