Adelaide, Australia, the capital of the state of South Australia. The city lies on the Torrens River between the Mount Lofty Ranges to the east and the Gulf of St. Vincent, an inlet of the Great Australian Bight, seven miles (11 km) to the west.

The city is completely surrounded by 1,700 acres (688 hectares) of parkland known as the “green belt,” consisting of parks, gardens, and playgrounds and sports fields. A dam on the Torrens River impounds Torrens Lake, which divides the city into northern and southern sections. South Adelaide is the business section; North Adelaide is primarily residential. Bridges across the lake link the two parts of the city.

Adelaide is the commercial and industrial center of South Australia. Products include agricultural machinery, chemicals, plastics, textiles, automobile bodies, and engineering and electronic equipment. The city is an important trade center for the surrounding region, which produces wheat, wool, hides, wine, and fruit. There are coal, iron ore, and copper mines nearby. Adelaide's docks are at Port Adelaide on the Gulf of St. Vincent. Among the city's attractions are the Art Gallery of South Australia, the Constitutional Museum, the Botanical Gardens, and the South Australian Museum. The Festival Centre, which includes the Festival Theatre, is a major performing arts complex. The University of Adelaide is the chief institution of higher learning.

Adelaide was founded in 1837 as the site of a British colony. The city was named after the wife of King William IV. It was the first Australian community to be incorporated as a city (1840).

Population (urban Adelaide): 1,072,585.