Hobart, Australia, a seaport and the capital city of Tasmania. It is on the Derwent River near Storm Bay, on the southern coast of the island. A floating bridge crosses the river here. Mount Wellington (4,166 feet [1,270 m]) overlooks the city. Hobart has woolen mills, meat-packing plants, canneries, foundries, sawmills, and flour mills. The University of Tasmania is here.

Hobart was founded in 1804 as a British prison settlement. It became the capital of Tasmania in 1812 and was made a city in 1857. Until 1881 it was called Hobart Town.

Population: 191,169.