Argentina, officially Argentine Republic, a country of South America. It is bounded by Bolivia, Paraguay, Brazil, Uruguay, the Atlantic Ocean, and Chile. With an area of 1,073,519 square miles (2,780,400 km2), Argentina is the fourth largest country of the Western Hemisphere, after Canada, the United States, and Brazil. Maximum distances are about 2,300 miles (3,700 km) north-south and 900 miles (1,450 km) east-west.

ArgentinaArgentina is the second largest country in South America in size. Only Brazil has more land.