Bolivia, officially, Republic of Bolivia, a landlocked country in South America. Bolivia is bordered by Chile and Peru, which separate it from the Pacific Ocean, and by Brazil, Paraguay, and Argentina. It has an area of 424,165 square miles (1,098,581 km2). Maximum dimensions are about 900 miles (1,450 km) north-south and 800 miles (1,290 km) east-west.

Facts in brief about Bolivia
Capital: Sucre (official); La Paz (actual).
Official languages: Spanish. The government also recognizes 35 indigenous languages.
Official name: República de Bolivia (Republic of Bolivia).
Area: 424,165 mi2 (1,098,581 km2). Greatest distances—north-south, 900 mi (1,448 km); east-west, 800 mi (1,287 km).
Elevation: Highest—Nevado Sajama, 21,463 ft (6,542 m) above sea level. Lowest—300 ft (90 m) above sea level, near Fortaleza.
Population: Current estimate—9,764,000; density, 23 persons per mi2 (9 per km2); distribution, 64 percent urban, 36 percent rural. 2001 census—8,274,325.
Chief products: Agriculture—coca, coffee, corn, potatoes, rice, soybeans, sugar, wheat. Forest products—rubber, timber. Manufacturing and processing—processed foods, refined tin, textiles. Mining—antimony, copper, gold, lead, natural gas, petroleum, tin, tungsten, silver, zinc.
Money: Basic unit—boliviano. One hundred centavos equal one boliviano.