Sucre, Bolivia, the country's official capital. (La Paz is the de facto, or actual, capital.) Sucre lies some 260 miles (420 km) southeast of La Paz in a small fertile basin high in the Andes. Its old public buildings, churches, and cathedral give parts of the city a Spanish colonial appearance. The University of San Francisco Xavier, founded here in 1624, is one of South America's oldest universities.

The city was founded by the Spanish in 1538 and was at various times called La Plata, Charcas, and Chuquisaca. For more than 300 years it was one of the more prominent of Spain's colonial cities. After Bolivia won independence (1825), Chuquisaca became the capital and was renamed in honor of Antonio José de Sucre. The national government was moved to La Paz in 1898, but Sucre retained its status as the national capital. The Bolivian supreme court is still located here.

Population: 193,876.