Latin AmericaLatin America consists of Mexico, Central America, South America, and the islands of the West Indies.

Latin America, the part of the New World south of the United States where the dominant language is Spanish, Portuguese, or French. (The word Latin refers to the origin of these three languages.) As usually defined, Latin America embraces all South America except Guyana and Suriname; all Central America except Belize; several islands of the West Indies, including Cuba, Hispaniola, Puerto Rico, and Martinique; and Mexico.

This article deals with the people, culture, and historical development of the area as a whole. For geography, agriculture, industry and commerce, and government,

See also articles on individual Latin-American countries: