Queens, New York, one of the five boroughs of New York City. It has the same boundaries as Queens County and lies at the west end of Long Island. Many bridges and tunnels connect Queens with Manhattan, across the East River to the west. Within the area of 108 square miles (280 km2) are a number of distinct communities, including Flushing, Forest Hills, and Jamaica, that were separate villages before the creation of Greater New York in the 1890's.

Queens is mainly residential. However, it is also the site of railway yards and of La Guardia and John F. Kennedy International airports. Aqueduct racetrack is here. Queens College, part of the City University of New York (CUNY), and Shea Stadium are in Flushing. York College, also part of CUNY, and St. John's University are in Jamaica. Flushing Meadow Park was the site of the New York World's Fairs of 1939-40 and 1964-65, and of United Nations headquarters in 1946-49. The park is the site of a science museum and of the National Tennis Center, where championship matches are held. Part of Gateway National Recreation Area is also here.

Queens borough was established in 1898 as a part of New York City.

Population: 2,229,379.