Raleigh, North Carolina, the state capital and the seat of Wake County. It is located in the center of the state. Raleigh is a shipping center for tobacco, a market for cotton, and a financial center. Textiles and electronic equipment are major products.

Notable among the city's museums is the North Carolina Museum of Art. Educational institutions include North Carolina State University, Shaw University, Saint Augustine's College, and Meredith College. A major cultural attraction is the North Carolina Symphony Orchestra. Raleigh Entertainment and Sports Arena is home to the Carolina Hurricanes (professional hockey).

The city was settled in 1760 and was first known as Bloomsbury; it was later named for Sir Walter Raleigh. The state legislature first met here in 1784 and Raleigh was made the permanent capital in 1792. Andrew Johnson, 17th President of the United States, was born here.

Population: 276,093.